How do I cancel my premium membership?

While we wish you'd keep on reading with us, we understand that sometimes we have to say 'goodbye'. That's why we make it easy to cancel your membership. 

Is your membership currently billing you through iTunes? If so, please scroll to the bottom of this guide for instructions unique to iTunes subscribers.

Memberships billed through Paypal, Google, or direct credit/debit:

You can cancel at any time by going to the "Account" tab in your Account Settings. You can access that by hovering your mouse over the icon in the upper righthand corner next to the 'Saved' button, selecting "Account Settings" from the drop down menu, and then going to the 'Account' tab. 

Once there, just hit the ‘Cancel membership’ link underneath the order to start the process of canceling the service. 

We're going to try and convince you to stay--be prepared. We may know that sometimes we have to say "goodbye", but we're going to try our best to see if there's anything that we can to make your time on Scribd better so you'll stay reading with us. The support team is available to help solve any issue that may have caused your desire to cancel the service. You're welcome to contact them for help directly at support@scribd.com.

Be sure you go through the full the cancelation flow to successfully cancel the service. You have to continue to click the link that states 'Continue with cancellation' underneath the blue 'Keep your membership' button until you receive the message below on the Accounts page of your profile. If you don't see this message, the cancellation wasn't successful and you will need to contact Scribd support for help!


 

We keep your premium membership active up until the time that you’ve paid for. For example, if you’re charged and cancel the next day, you'll still get to enjoy the rest of the month reading all that's available in our premium collection until that month is over. After that, your account will revert to a free profile on Scribd. You won't have access to the titles available only with a membership, and you will no longer have access to any remaining Monthly Reads you had not used, but you'll still be able to enjoy all our free features!

How do I delete my account entirely?

If you've decided to leave us altogether and deactivate your account, you just need to follow a few simple steps.

  1. Make sure you're logged into Scribd.
  2. Hover your mouse over the icon in the upper righthand corner to bring up the drop-down navigation menu and select "Account Settings".
  3. Click "Preferences".
  4. Select "Deactivate your account" on the bottom of the page and follow the onscreen prompts.

We might not be excited that you've chosen to leave us, but we understand. 

Memberships purchased through iTunes

If you purchased your membership though our iPhone or iPad app using iTunes, you will need to cancel it through iTunes as well. Unfortunately Scribd support cannot directly cancel iTunes accounts for you. You can cancel from the App Store app on your device or from iTunes on your computer. Click here to go directly to your iTunes subscription management page, or see Apple's support guide for more information.

And of course, Scribd support is always there for you - if you have any problems just let us know!

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.
Powered by Zendesk